The International Multisensory Structured Language Education Council

Standard for Preparation of Dyslexia Practitioners and Therapists

IMSLEC's Board of Directors / Governance


The Council

The Council is comprised of one designated representative from each accredited training course. Representatives from training courses in the process of accreditation (Formal Candidates) are not members of the Council but are encouraged to attend meetings of the Council to become familiar with the work of IMSLEC.

The Board of Directors

The Board determines the policies and procedures of IMSLEC and directs and supervises its affairs. There are 15 Board members elected from the Council membership. The immediate past president and representatives from IDA and ALTA sit on the Board as non-voting members. One public member for every six Board members is elected by the Board from nominees submitted by accredited training courses.

The Executive Committee

The Executive Committee of the Board is elected by the Board from its own members. The committee includes the President, the Vice President / President-Elect, the Vice President / Accreditation, the Secretary, and the Treasurer. The President, assisted by the officers, manages the day-to-day business of IMSLEC, advises, and presents recommendations to the Board.

The Executive Director

The Executive Director is employed to administer and manage the affairs of the Council under direction of the Executive Committee.

2018-2019 Board of Directors

Executive Committee

Kay F. Peterson, M.S., LDT, CALT-QI  President
Karen J Avrit, M.Ed., LDT, CALT-QI  Vice President
Christine K Bedenbaugh, M.Ed., LDT, CALT-QI  Vice President / Accreditation
Jeanine L. Phillips, MSEd, CALT-QI  Treasurer
Nancy Cushen White, EdD, BCET, CALT-QI, CDT, LDT  Secretary
Jana Jones, MLA, LDT, CALT-QI  Executive Director

Director Term Organization
Kay Allen, M.Ed.  2017 - 2020 Public Member
Karen J Avrit, M.Ed., LDT, CALT-QI  2017 - 2020 Texas Scottish Rite Hospital
Christine K Bedenbaugh, M.Ed., LDT, CALT-QI  2016 - 2019 Shelton School-SALA
Janie Carnal, M.Ed., CALP  2016 - 2019 Spalding Education International
Sandra Donah, CALP, CDP  2016 - 2019 Western Massachusetts Learning Centers for Children
Mary L. Farrell, Ph.D., OG-THT  2017 - 2019 Fairleigh Dickinson University
Lynne P. Fitzhugh, Ph.D., CALT, QI  2018 - 2021 Colorado Literacy and Learning Center/ CO Springs
Carin Illig, BA, M.Ed., CALT, ICALP  2016 - 2019 Nashua Children's Dyslexia Center
Deborah Lynam 2016 - 2019 Public Member
Allison Peck, M.Ed., LDT, CALT-QI, CDT  2017 - 2020 Neuhaus Education Center
Kay F. Peterson, M.S., LDT, CALT-QI  2016 - 2019 LEAD/Literacy Education & Academic Development, Inc.
Jeanine L. Phillips, MSEd, CALT-QI  2016 - 2019 Fundamental Learning Center, Inc.
Joyce  S. Pickering, HUM.D  2018 - 2021 Shelton School-SEE
Kathleen N. Rose, M.A.  2015 - 2019 The Gow School
Karen S. Vickery, Ed.D, LDT, CALT-QI  2016 - 2019 LEAD/Literacy Education & Academic Development, Inc.
Laurie Wagner, CDP  2016 - 2019 Brainspring Orton-Gillingham
Nancy Cushen White, EdD, BCET, CALT-QI, CDT, LDT  2017 - 2020 Slingerland Institute for Literacy

Home | About Us | Membership | Newsletters | Accreditation | FAQ | Apply Now